One West University Boulevard, Brownsville, Texas 78520 | 956-882-8200

About Us

Dr. David FisherDr. David Fisher​ – Honors Program Coordinator

The Honors Program is coordinated by Dr. David Fisher, Associate Professor of History and Associate Dean of the College of Liberal Arts. An Advisory Council including faculty members from each CLA department guides the Honors Program based on best practices as described by the National Collegiate Honors Council. Advisory Council members also contribute to the program by advising majors in their departments who are participating in the program. 

Contact Us:; (956) 882-8836

Advisory Council
Behavioral Sciences    Dr. Mark Horowitz
Communication          Dr. Louis Falk
Criminal Justice          Dr. Deborah Hartley
English                      Dr. John Newman
Government               Dr. Michelle Keck
History                      Dr. David Fisher
Modern Languages     Dr. Elena Vega-Sampayo
Music                        Dr. Susan de Ghizé
Visual Arts                 Mr. Carlos Gomez, M.F.A

Mission statement

The UTB College of Liberal Arts Honors Program provides academic enrichment opportunities for high-achieving undergraduate students pursuing Bachelor’s degrees in all CLA programs of study. Honors students engage in more challenging academic work, interdisciplinary approaches, research, independent study, and greater involvement with faculty and other excellent students. In fall 2015, the inauguration of UT Rio Grande Valley will consolidate the honors programs at UTB and UTPA into a single program with offices on the Edinburg and Brownsville campuses. Learn more about UTPA’s distinguished Guerra Honors Program.​


For comments and questions, please contact the Webmaster.