One West University Boulevard, Brownsville, Texas 78520 | 956-882-8200

Rio Grande Valley, Mexico and Border

Binational Health Care and Health-care Issues

Margie  Chavez, Ed.D.

Associate Professor
Nursing
Also Fluent in: Spanish
marge.chavez@utb.edu
956-882-5181
Binational Mental Health Issues

Margie  Chavez, Ed.D.

Associate Professor
Nursing
Also Fluent in: Spanish
marge.chavez@utb.edu
956-882-5181
Border Security

Guadalupe  Correa-Cabrera, Ph.D.

Associate Professor and Chair
Government
gcorrea75@gmail.com
956-882-3876
Crime, Border

Susan  Ritter, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
Criminal Justice
susan.ritter@utb.edu
956-882-6569
Culture, Brownsville

Knopp  Anthony, Ph.D.

Professor Emeritus
History
anthony.knopp@utb.edu
956-882-8258
Alternate #: 956-372-0380
Drug Trafficking and Organized Crime

Guadalupe  Correa-Cabrera, Ph.D.

Associate Professor and Chair
Government
gcorrea75@gmail.com
956-882-3876
Economy, Mexico

Rafael  Otero, Ph.D.

Lecturer
Finance and Economics
rafael.otero@utb.edu
956-882-5810
Health, Border Chronic Disease Management

Eloisa  Tamez, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
Nursing
Also Fluent in: Spanish
eloisa.tamez@utb.edu
956-882-5079
Alternate #: 956-245-7119
Health, Border Issues

Margie  Chavez, Ed.D.

Associate Professor
Nursing
marge.chavez@utb.edu
956-882-5181
Health, Mexican-American Diabetes and Prevention

Chavez  Margie, Ed.D.

Associate Professor
Nursing
Also Fluent in: Spanish
marge.chavez@utb.edu
956-882-5181
Health, Mexican-American Risk Perceptions

Eloisa  Tamez, Ph.D.

Associate Master Technical Instructor
Nursing
Also Fluent in: Spanish
eloisa.tamez@utb.edu
956-882-5079
History, Border Studies

Anthony  Knopp, Ph.D.

Professor Emeritus
History
anthony.knopp@utb.edu
956-882-8258
Alternate #: 956-372-0380
History, Browsville

Anthony  Knopp, Ph.D.

Professor Emeritus
History
anthony.knopp@utb.edu
956-882-8258
Alternate #: 956-372-0380
History, Mexico

Anthony  Knopp, Ph.D.

Professor Emeritus
History
anthony.knopp@utb.edu
956-882-8258
Alternate #: 956-372-0380
History, Mexico

Manuel  Medrano, Ed.D.

Professor
History
Also Fluent in: Spanish
manuel.medrano@utb.edu
956-882-8837
History, Rio Grande Valley

Milo  Kearney, Ph.D.

Professor Emeritus
History
Also Fluent in: Spanish, German, French
milo.kearney@utb.edu
210-561-1608
History, South Texas

Manuel  Medrano, Ed.D.

Professor
History
Also Fluent in: Spanish
manuel.medrano@utb.edu
956-882-8837
Homeland and Border Security

Michael  Lytle , M.Ed.

Associate Master Technical Instructor
Criminal Justice
michael.lytle@utb.edu
956-882-7168
Alternate #: 703-861-5150
Immigration Issues

Dania  Lopez Garcia, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor
Modern Languages
Also Fluent in: Spanish
dania.lopezgarcia@utb.edu
956-882-8216
Immigration Trauma

Selma  D.  Yznaga, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
Educational Psychology and Leadership Studies
Also Fluent in: Spanish
selma.yznaga@utb.edu
956-882-7855
International Relations

Michelle  Keck, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor
Government
michelle.keck@utb.edu
956-882-6517
Language, Mexican-American Women and Children

Anadelia  Gonzales, Ph.D.

Senior Lecturer
Behavioral Sciences
Also Fluent in: Spanish
anadelia.gonzales@utb.edu
956-882-7992
Latin America

Luis  Rodriguez-Abad, Ph.D.

Professor of Sociology
Behavioral Sciences
luis.rodriguez@utb.edu
956-882-8245
Latin America, Social Issues in

William  Yaworsky, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor
Behavioral Sciences
Also Fluent in: Spanish
william.yaworsky@utb.edu
956-882-7846
Alternate #: 956-882-7846
Literature, Chicano

Cipriano  Cardenas, N/A

Associate Professor

Also Fluent in: Spanish
cipriano.cardenas@utb.edu
956-882-
Literature, Latino

Eduardo  Del Rio, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
English
Also Fluent in: Spanish
eduardo.delrio@utb.edu
956-882-7653
Literature, Lucha Libre

Javier  A.  Martinez, Ph.D.

Dean
College of Liberal Arts
javier.a.martinez@utb.edu
956-882-8964
Alternate #: 956-561-0551
Literature, Preservation of South Texas Literature

Juan Antonio  Gonzalez, M.A.

Associate Professor
Modern Languages
Also Fluent in: Spanish
juanantonio.gonzalez@utb.edu
956-882-8831
Literature, Spanish

Elena  Vega-Sampayo, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor
Modern Languages
Also Fluent in: Spanish
elena.vega@utb.edu
956-882-7216
Mexican Politics, Contemporary

Guadalupe  Correa-Cabrera, Ph.D.

Associate Professor and Chair
Government
gcorrea75@gmail.com
956-882-3876
Mexico, Economy in

Rafael  Otero, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
Business Administration
Also Fluent in: Spanish
rafael.otero@utb.edu
956-882-7304
Mexico, Social Issues in

William  Yaworsky, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor
Behavioral Sciences
Also Fluent in: Spanish
william.yaworsky@utb.edu
956-882-7846
Alternate #: 956-541-1384
Mexico-United States Relations

Anthony  Knopp, Ph.D.

Professor Emeritus
History
anthony.knopp@utb.edu
956-882-8258
Alternate #: 956-372-0380
Migration and Human Trafficking

Guadalupe  Correa-Cabrera, Ph.D.

Associate Professor and Chair
Government
gcorrea75@gmail.com
956-882-3876
Politics, Latin America

Guadalupe  Correa-Cabrera, Ph.D.

Associate Professor and Chair
Government
gcorrea75@gmail.com
956-882-3876
Spanish Language Journalism, Texas-Mexico Border

Cipriano  A.  Cardenas, M.A.

Associate Professor
Modern Languages
cipriano.cardenas@utb.edu
956-882-8216
United States - Mexico Relations

Guadalupe  Correa-Cabrera, Ph.D.

Associate Professor and Chair
Government
gcorrea75@gmail.com
956-882-3876
 
For comments and questions, please contact the Webmaster.