One West University Boulevard, Brownsville, Texas 78520 | 956-882-8200
Dean of UT Law School to Visit Campus in January  

BROWSVILLE, TEXAS –JANUARY 3, 2013-Students interested in applying to the University of Texas at Austin School of Law are encouraged to attend an information session at 3:45 p.m. Wednesday, Jan. 16 in the Education and Business Complex, Room 1.502.

Ward Farnsworth, UT Law School Dean, will meet with prospective students. Accompanying him on the trip will be Monica Ingram, Assistant Dean for Admissions, Samuel R. Riley, Director for Admission Programs, and current law student Layshauni Rodriguez of San Benito. She is a 2012 graduate of The University of Texas at Brownsville and Texas Southmost College.  

Ward Farnsworth, UT Law School Dean 
Ward Farnsworth, UT Law School Dean

Jason Rios is a third year law student and will graduate next May. A 2010 graduate of UTB and TSC, he encourages students to attend the session.


“Start researching the law school admissions process and studying for the LSAT well before you intend to apply to law school,” said Rios. “It is important to work on your personal statement and references early so you do not miss any application deadlines. Stay focused and work hard to achieve your goals.” 

Founded in 1883, the UT Law School is one of the oldest law schools in the nation. With an enrollment of 1,200 Doctor of Jurisprudence degree candidates, it is also one of the nation’s largest law schools.  

The training received and the courses offered provide the necessary legal education for practice in any part of the United States. Legal positions with government, public service organizations, leading corporations and law firms throughout Texas, the nation and the world are available to its graduates.  

Well-known graduates from the Rio Grande Valley include Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals Judge Reynaldo Garza; former Secretary of the Treasury Lloyd M. Bentsen Jr. and Secretary of Energy Federico Peña.

Other graduates include former U.S. Secretary of State James A. Baker III; former U.S. Ambassador Robert S. Strauss; Seventh Circuit Court of Appeals Judge Diane Wood; U.S. Senator Kay Bailey Hutchison; former Dallas Mayor and current U.S. Trade Representative Ron Kirk; presidential advisor Paul Begala; litigator Joe Jamail; criminal defense attorney Dick DeGuerin; and cartoonist Sam Hurt.

For more information, contact Carlo Tamayo in the Office of Admissions and Recruiting at 956-882-8295 or

For comments and questions, please contact the Webmaster.