One West University Boulevard, Brownsville, Texas 78520 | 956-882-8200

Advisory board

The Advisory Board serves to guide the creation of workshops and other events through the ongoing formative evaluation. The purpose of the board is to offer guidance and make recommendations regarding policy and activities sponsored by the Center for Teaching and Learning.

Board Members: Jeff Wilson, Environmental Science; Lori Petty, Education; Michelle Keck, Government; Yong Zhou, Engineering; Alan Oak, English; Cherly L. Phelps, Modern Languages, Assistant Dean, Liberal Arts; John A. Cook, Communication; Dianna Garcia-Smith, Nursing; Jennie Johnson, Business Administration; Ethel Cantu, Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs; Kip Hinton, Education; Grace Cano, Student, History Major, Anatasia Lawrence, Criminal Justice 


The term for board members is two years. The board meets as needed together in person and online.

If you would like to become an Advisory Board member please contact:

Faculty are encouraged to communicate with a board member to provide suggestions and advice for policy and activities.  If you would like to volunteer to be a presenter for a workshop or have a suggestion for a workshop, click here.

For comments and questions, please contact the Webmaster.