One West University Boulevard, Brownsville, Texas 78520 | 956-882-8200

Graduate Program Coordinators

There are, typically, two primary roles in graduate program administration: graduate faculty advising and graduate program curriculum development. Below is a list of the activities performed by each of these functions.

The following activities relate to the role of graduate faculty advisor:

  • Review and approve new applications for admission to the graduate program
  • Advising students in the creation of their Program of Study
  • Provide leadership for the recruiting of new graduate students for the program
  • Create program flyers and provide information to promote the graduate program
  • Serve as liaison with the Graduate Studies Office in the recruiting, admission, and advising of graduate students
  • Monitoring graduate student progress and following up as needed
  • Enforce graduate policies and graduate program requirements
  • Advising graduate students regarding their thesis, comprehensive exam, or other capstone experience
  • Reviewing graduate student applications for graduation

The following activities relate to the administration of graduate curriculum :

  • Supervise the department graduate curriculum committee
  • Consult and advise graduate program faculty regarding curriculum change and development
  • Consult and advise graduate faculty and students regarding graduate policies
  • Schedule department graduate curriculum committee meetings
  • Facilitate revision of the graduate program curriculum
  • Serve as liaison between the department graduate curriculum committee and the College/School curriculum committee and the Graduate Studies Office
  • Provide for the implementation of curriculum and policy changes
Graduate Program Graduate Coordinators E-mail Address
College of Business
M.B.A. Business Administration Dr. Edith Galy edith.galy@utb.edu
College of Education
M.ED. in Bilingual Education Dr. Sandra Mercuri sandra.mercuri@utb.edu
M.ED. in Counseling and Guidance Dr. Olivia Rivas olivia.rivas@utb.edu
M.ED. in Curriculum and Instruction Dr. Reynaldo Ramirez reynaldo.ramirez@utb.edu
​M.ED. in Curriculum and Instruction emphasis in Digital Literacy ​Dr. Kathy Bussert-Webb kathy.bussertwebb@utb.edu
M.ED. in Early Childhood Education Dr. Georgianna Duarte georgianna.duarte@utb.edu
M.ED. in Educational Leadership Dr. Jesus "Chuey" Abrego chuey.abrego@utb.edu
M.ED. in Educational Technology Dr. Rene Corbeil rene.corbeil@utb.edu
M.ED. in Special Education Dr. Steve Chamberlain steve.chamberlain@utb.edu
M.S. in Exercise Science Dr. Murat Karabalut murat.karabalut@utb.edu
Ed.D. in Curriculum and Instruction Dr. Peter Gawenda peter.gawenda@utb.edu
College of Biomedical Sciences
and Health Professions
M.S. in Nursing Dr. Anne Rentfro anne.rentfro@utb.edu
College of Liberal Arts
M.A. in English Dr. Christopher Carmona christopher.carmona10@utb.edu
M.A. in History Dr. David Fisher david.fisher@utb.edu
M.A. in Psychology Dr. Bernardo de la Garza bernardo.delagarza1@utb.edu
M.A. in Spanish Dr. Dania Lopez-Garcia dania.lopezgarcia@utb.edu
M.A in Spanish Translation and Interpreting Dr. Jose Davila-Montes jose.davila@utb.edu
M.A.I.S. Dr. William Yaworksy william.yaworsky@utb.edu
M.M in Music Education Dr. Stephen Shoop stephen.shoop@utb.edu
M.P.P.M. Dr. Terence Garrett terence.garrett@utb.edu
 
College of Science,
Mathematics & Technology
M.S./M.S.I.S. in Biology Dr. Richard Kline richard.kline@utb.edu
M.S./M.S.I.S. in Mathematics Dr. Jerzy Mogilski jerzy.mogilski@utb.edu
M.S. in Physics Dr. Karen Martirosyan karen.martirosyan@utb.edu
M.S./M.S.I.S. Computer Science Dr. Liyu Zhang liyu.zhang@utb.edu

​ ​​

For comments and questions, please contact the Webmaster.